top of page
Confidence Safety Academy
FAQs
Frequently asked questions
Start with our Basic Gun Intro class. If you'd rather learn one-on-one, or want to try a few guns before you buy one, book a 2-hour private lesson. We provide several of the most popular handguns sold in California for concealed carry.
Yes. We provide private pistol lessons to anyone who is interested in improving their shooting skills. If you want to build your confidence in shooting, register for a private lesson today.
Yes. California Law mandates that anyone who desires to carry a handgun on their person legally, outside of their property, must obtain a CCW permit through their County of residence.
With the new SB2 bill that was passed by the California State Legislature there are several requirements in order to obtain your permit. Don't let these requirements intimidate you. It's not as difficult as it sounds. If you're hesitant at all, please reach out to us and we'll gladly walk you through the process. Here's the list:Be at least 21 years of ageBe a resident of the countyBe of good moral characterBe the recorded owner, with the Department of Justice, of the pistol, revolver, or other firearm for which the license will be issuedHave completed an approved firearms training class (minimum of 16 hours) Section 26165Not be reasonably likely to be a danger to self, others, or the communityNot have been convicted of contempt of court under Section 166Not have been convicted of a felony or certain types of misdemeanors, including a lifetime prohibition if convicted of domestic violenceNot have been convicted of a hate crime in the previous 10 years under Sections 422.6, 422.7, 422.75, or 29805Not have engaged in an unlawful or reckless use, display, or brandishing of a firearmNot have been charged with any offense that was dismissed in the previous 10 years under Sections 290. 667.5, 1192.7, 1192.8, or 29805Not be subject to any restraining order, protective order, or other type of court order for the previous five yearsNot have been committed to or incarcerated in county jail or state prison, or on probation, parole post release community supervision, or mandatory supervision in the previous five years resulting from a conviction of an offense an element that involves controlled substances described in Sections 11053 to 11058, inclusive of the Health and Safety Code, or AlcoholNot be abusing or addicted to controlled substances described in Sections 11053 to 11058, inclusive of the Health and Safety Code, or AlcoholNot have experienced the loss or theft of multiple firearms due to the applicant’s lack of compliance with federal, state, or local law regarding storing, transporting, or securing the firearmNot have failed to report a loss of a firearm as required by Section 25250 or any other state, federal, or local law requiring the reporting of the loss of a firearmMeet federal legal requirements to own a firearm
Your permit will be valid 2 years from when it is issued. The County will not remind you that it will be time to renew so make sure you are checking your permit to ensure you take a renewal class before it expires. As of January 1, 2027, everyone who renews their permit or gets a new permit will have 3 years until the expiration.
The training includes 8 hours of lecture the first day on the following topics: 1. Developing a Personal and Home Protection Plan; 2. Self-Defense Firearms Basics; 3. Defensive Shooting Fundamentals; 4. The Legal Use of Force; 5. Deadly Encounters and Their Aftermath; 6. Gear and Gadgets; 7. Basic and Advanced SkillsThe second day will include a live fire at a local range where you will have to qualify with your handgun(s). We will also cover an hour of Mental Health and cover a wide variety of California law in regards to handguns from how to transport, to where you can carry, when you can legally use force, and much more. Finally, we will take a written test that your instructor must keep on file for at least 2 years.
Yes. There are 28 States that recognize California's CCW permit. We highly encourage you to go to your phone's app store and download the USCCA's Reciprocity app. This app will tell you specifically where you can and cannot carry and what each State's law is when it comes to carrying a concealed gun in their State.
Yes. We offer a Utah CCW course. Combined with your California permit, it expands where you can carry from 28 states with just a California permit to 38 states with both. If you are interested, let us know and we'd love to register you for our next class.
You now have 90 days, past expiration, to renew your permit. You cannot carry with an expired permit, but you will not need to take the entire 16 hour course over again as long as you take it within the 90 day window. If you go past the 90 day expiration window, you will need to take the entire 16 hour course all over again.
It all depends on several factors. The first is that the gun has to fit comfortably in your hand. The gun should also be easy for you to shoot. It doesn't matter if everyone else loves shooting it, if it doesn't fit well in your hand and if you can't shoot it well, you may need to consider buying another gun. The third criteria is that it should be somewhat comfortable to conceal. If the gun is too heavy and/or is uncomfortable to carry you'll probably never leave the house with it. Keep in mind, most gun owners go through 3-4 holsters before they find one that is comfortable. So just because it's initially uncomfortable, doesn't mean it will always be that way if you find the right holster.
After the SB2 bill was passed all renewal classes in California shall be 8 hours. This includes taking a written test.
No. You are no longer required to give a reason for why you want to obtain a CCW. This is due to the recent Supreme Court case (NY vs. Bruen) in June of 2022. States are no longer allowed to ask you why you want to get your CCW permit. Now they are restricted to asking you moral character questions.
Yes. California law requires that you demonstrate proficiency (live fire) with each firearm you want to list on your CCW. Your County Sheriff dictates how many firearms you can have on your permit at one time.
No matter where you move, you are required to notify your local Sheriff's Department no more than 10 days after you move. If you move out of your County your permit will only be valid for 90 days and you will be required to take another 16 hour CCW course in the County in which you live.
Even if justified, you should expect to be detained by local law enforcement, have your firearm seized, and be interviewed by the local law enforcement officer assigned to your incident. We strongly advise legal counsel ahead of time. Many CCW holders choose to carry self-defense insurance for this reason. We promote and recommend Delta Defense with the USCCA (United States Concealed Carry Association) for self-defense insurance. We carry it ourselves and don't risk the possibility of being caught in a bad situation without it. Most of our instructors are either current or former cops and can give you a first-hand look into what will happen to you immediately after a self-defense incident takes place.
bottom of page